remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Mental and physical resources [Monday, Oct. 17, 2005, 6:31 pm]

I was stupid and forgot my photo paper today. Kinda hard to print photos for next week's critique without that stuff, isn't it? And of course I wasn't driving all the way home to get it, with hardly any gas in my car anyway. So I stayed in the computer lab for a few hours and wrote up some chemistry assignment on Marie Curie. I think I learned a lot more from it than would be evident from my one-page synopsis.
And this is something that I've noticed before, in the stories of other people who've done great things, and that is that their drive and desire to complete their tasks comes from themselves, not from their resources. One man said he visited the abandoned shed which Marie Curie used as a lab, and where she was able to extract the element radium for the first time - he said if he hadn't seen the chemistry equipment there, he would have thought it was a joke to even think that someone would be doing research in an old shed.
And too often I find a lack of "resources" as one of my excuses for not getting things done. "Well, I don't have a computer that's working. How do you expect me to write anything good without a computer?"
But it isn't about physical resources. If you haven't developed the mental resources for completing a task, the physical will only make things more convenient, not better. And if you have the mental resources and discipline necessary, what more do you need? There should be no excuses. But we all like the computers to do our hard work for us, and so learning how to get by without them seems impossible, when in fact it would strengthen our abilities to do without them sometimes.
I'm so glad that some people were simply more concerned with their goals of making life better for others, rather than having all the latest gear to do their jobs for them. I hope I never become too dependent on material resources in my personal endeavors.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009