remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

David Copperfield quotes [Thursday, Oct. 13, 2005, 4:11 pm]

And now for some of my favorite quotes from David Copperfield:

"What meals I had in silence and embarrassment, always feeling that there were a knife and fork too many, and those mine; and appetite too many, and that mine; a plate and chair too many, and those mine; a somebody too many, and that I!"

"In her death she winged her way back to her calm untroubled youth, and cancelled all the rest. The mother who lay in the grave, was the mother of my infancy; the little creature in her arms, was myself, as I had once been, hushed for ever on her bosom."

"'These are early days, Trot,' she persued, 'and Rome was not built in a day, nor in a year. You have chosen freely for yourself;' a cloud passed over her face for a moment, I thought, 'and you have chosen a very pretty and a very affectionate creature. It will be your duty, and it will be your pleasure too -- of course, I know that; I am not delivering a lecture -- to estimate her (as you chose her) by the qualities she has, and not by the qualities she may not have. The latter you must develop in her, if you can. And if you cannot, child, you must just accustom yourself to do without 'em. But remember, dear, the future is between you two. No one can assist you; you are to work it out for yourselves. This is marriage, Trot..."

"There can be no disparity in marriage like unsuitability of mind and purpose...I should be thankful to him for having saved me from the first mistaken impulse of my undisciplined heart."

"Oh Agnes, Oh my soul, so may thy face be by me when I close my life indeed! so may I, when realities are melting from me like the shadows which I now dismiss, still find thee near me, pointing upward!"

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009