remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Who, what, where, when? And what am I supposed to be learning? [Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2005, 2:24 pm]


I don't like literature class. We spent more time today discussing certain scholars' opinions of history and race than we did literature. But there is some semi-good news. I mentioned group presentations will be incorporated into this class's grade. Well I ended up in the group that will do a presentation on Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. And he's one of my favorite poets. And we don't have to do it until December (in other words, last), so by that time we'll have figured out how everyone else has done there's, which will hopefully lessen our chances of looking stupid. It's odd that I made it through an entire year of college without having to do any kind of oral presentation (alone or with a group), and yet in this semester alone I have to do three! Oh, the anxiety. *shivers*

I really don't know if I like this school's English program, now that I'm taking classes that are above the 100 level. There really aren't many writing courses - mainly just different studies of literature. Don't get me wrong, I love literature. But 1). we really haven't actually studied much yet 2), the professors seem more eager to talk about gender, race, and "religious bias" than the literature itself, and 3), there doesn't seem to be much career preparation in a study of literature, unless you want to teach it, which I don't.

I remember looking through catalogs of some of the private schools I applied to, and there seemed so much more there. Not only was some of it from a Christian perspective, but one of them had 3 separate creative writing classes. Another had script writing, and professional writing. Things that I would enjoy, and could potentially get paid to do if I ever got good enough. All they really have at this school is English 101 (which was easy), Creative writing (which I have yet to take), and Advanced technical communications (which I'm not really interested in). Plus I think I would be more motivated at a private school, being around more people who had the same "career aspirations" as I do. At least I hope I would be.

I just don't know.

I don't know where I want to go. All I know is that I don't want to stay here. And I guess I'm also realizing that I'll have to make a living for myself someday, and I don't want to spend the rest of my life making whoopie pies.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009