remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Tomatoes . . . and other stuff [Saturday, Sept. 10, 2005, 2:52 pm]

A few days ago my dad made this wonderful spaghetti sauce, using around 10 gigantic tomatoes from our garden. It was wicked condensed though, and then I had almost a whole tomato on my salad, so my body was kinda reeling afterwards saying, "whoa, tomato overload!" But it was good. I love having a garden. It's so nice to eat food that hasn't been boxed, packaged, colored, flavored, preserved, or otherwise processed. Sometimes I don't know how they can still call it "food" after it goes through all those stages and ends up on someone's plate.

Today at work my boss asked me if I'd like to start waitressing every Saturday because one of the workers is leaving. I said no. It would give me extra hours, but it would also take up study time, and I already get around 15 hours per week, which is all I really want right now. I hope I won't regret it. If it had been summer I might have said yes because I would have a lot more time and need for money, but I just don't think it would be a good thing now.

Ugh, stuff is so confusing sometimes. I know I need to start applying soon to all those schools I'm hoping to spend my last 2 years of college at, if I want a good chance of financial aid. And I should do it soon before my work starts piling up and I get too busy. Well, I rarely let work pile up, but that's because I'm busy spreading it out over much of my free time.

Anyway, I just don't want to deal with it now - all those 0's at the end of the price tags, questions of "career objectives," living quarters, food, books, car, responsibility. I know I can do it, I just don't like to think about it sometimes. But no matter what happens to me, it's good to know there are always things like Farside books, and the Andy Griffith Show.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009