remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The wild, and the dead [Monday, Aug. 01, 2005, 4:55 pm]

Over a year ago I mentioned here that my dad brought back a whole bunch of huge old moose bones that he'd found in the woods. Well, they spent most of their time in the underbrush next to our house, but I've noticed that lately my brothers have been using them as playthings and leaving them lying around in various places.

Now, I don't have a problem with that, but I never really realized how it must appear to visitors to see an enormous moose skull lying on our porch, or a moose pelvis and ribs scattered near the driveway. You know, that might actually disturb people who don't know us that well. No wonder that UPS guy went back to his truck so quickly.

Anyway, today I had an actual encounter with live animals that I wasn't expecting. I stopped my car several miles from our house, and decided to take a few pictures of a road-side pond, so I went over to the bridge/guardrail and leaned over to get a shot of the shallow water - and was amazed to see 3 deer standing there together. They still had spots, although one of them was much smaller than the others, but by the time I held up my camera to get a shot, they had started running away.

Now that's one of the few times I'd wished I had my point & shoot camera instead, but I did the best I could to focus quickly. Unfortunately, the first shot will probably be sadly underexposed, but the next one might be better. The only bad thing about shooting film instead of digital is having to wait longer. But I can handle it.

I hope I'm not the only one who feels genuinely shocked and happy after getting an up-close look at wildlife like that. Even several seconds after the deer had bolted, I could still feel my hands trembling while holding the camera. I felt like I'd been blessed by being brought to the right place at the right time to experience something that no one will experience the same way again. I think it would be so cool to be a wildlife photographer. It would be like treasure-hunting, only the treasure has to be created using a good camera and patience and skill to get the right shot at the right time.

Because sometimes photographing trees & flowers just gets boring ;-)

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009