remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Osibili, si ergo [Sunday, Jul. 31, 2005, 9:59 pm]

My communications prof used this demonstration a few classes ago, and I came across it in my notes while studying, so I've decided to share it.

Okay scholars - without scrolling down too far, what do you think this means? :

Osibili si ergo
Fortibuses in ero
Nobili demis trux:
Sewatis enim?
Cowsendux!

-----------------------

C'mon, haven't any of you taken latin? (that's what he asked us).

Okay, since you can't figure it out, I'll tell you what it says:

"Oh, see Billy, see 'er go. Forty buses in a row. No Billy, 'dem is trucks. See what is in 'em? Cows and ducks!"

The thing is, we see a foreign-looking bunch of words, and our brains automatically bail out and say, "I can't read that, it's in a different language!" And even after he "read" it to us, one woman kept asking him what it really meant. Nothing. It's jibberish, unless you read it in English.

Well, it gave me a laugh anyway.

*Laura*

Groucho: "Oh, let it go. Fortunately I have duplicate set in my pocket. I always carry two of everything. In fact, this is the first time I've ever been out with only one woman."
Connie: "Oh, you mean you take two girls out every time?"
Groucho: "Especially in an automobile. I hate to see a girl walk home alone."

-Horse Feathers-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009