remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Torrential rain, and Napoleon chapstick [Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005, 3:42 pm]

Last evening we had a storm. I could tell it was coming by the clouds, but it really didn't look as bad as it turned out to be. It just started up raining suddenly, and quickly grew incredibly strong and windy. I've seriously never seen it rain so hard in my life. Our house lost power almost immediately, and I wondered for a second whether a tornado was forming or something. But it didn't, and the rain gradually let up after a while.

But then our neighbors called us and said a tree had fallen between their house and ours. So, my whole family went down to the end of the driveway to see a police car and a fire engine arrive (fortunately there weren't any live wires at the time). And the fireman eventually cut the tree off the line so the electrician guys could glue the wires back together later. Or something like that. I took a few long-distance pictures of the guys in action with my point & shoot camera, but I don't know if they'll turn out that well.

There were at least 2 trees down on other parts of our property. so I'm very thankful that none of us happened to be out walking or driving when that happened.

Oh - and I discovered this about a week ago and kept forgetting to write it - did you know they make Napoleon Dynamine chapstick. It's called "my lips hurt real bad" chapstick. I'm not kidding. They also make "flippin' sweet" altoid mints. And even wrist cuffs that say "Tina you fat lard, get your dinner!" I know because I traded for all those things at a recent Yankee swap. But then someone traded me for them, *sob* I ended up with an expensive-looking set of cassettes that teach you how to speak modern Hebrew. Hmmmm. I might try it out someday, I dunno.

*Laura*

S. Quentin Quale: "Say, where have I seen your face before?"
Joseph Panello: "Right where it is now."

-Go West-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009