remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Money and bills [Thursday, Jul. 21, 2005, 3:07 pm]

Ugh. Today I got the bill for Fall tuition 2005. Let's just say it's about 3 times what I had to pay last year. And after careful scrutiny, I think I've figured out why: I have a job this year. I was given absolutely nothing in terms of government grants this time around, which is what makes the difference.

Hmmmm. So if you're not working, you can hit up the government for cash, but once you get a job they give you nothing and force you to go on a payment plan or take out a loan to get the tuition money. This is really a great way to teach people to depend on themselves rather than the government, isn't it? Who dares me to quit my job next year and watch the tuition bill get cut in half?

Okay, so I'm just being sarcastic. Every situation is very different. And there's nothing humiliating about going on a payment plan, it's just that I'm not that kind of person. If I owe someone money I'd much rather just pay it all at once rather than worrying about due dates and my checkbook balance. Okay, so it won't be that bad either. I can deal with it. I won't be taking out loans or anything like that, so I don't want to sound like I'm complaining.

I don't want to ever use money as a security blanket, so as long as I have enough of it, it shouldn't really matter to me, should it?

*Laura*

"Just remember - money will never make you happy. And happy will never make you money. That might be a wise crack, but I doubt it."

-Groucho

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009