remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Super-humans [Sunday, Jul. 10, 2005, 12:19 pm]

I'm sorry for the lack of updates lately. We've had lots of family members over, and the class I'm taking now is at night, long after the college computer lab closes, so I haven't been able to get in there for privacy. It's hard to believe it's been almost a week since Independence Day, but I hope everyone had a good one.

As for myself, I haven't deviated far from my routine. I finally watched "The Incredibles" a few days ago, and was very impressed. When it first came out I thought it looked like just another cheap action movie with cheesy dialog and too many explosions, but it was very well done. Disney/Pixar has produced some very sophisticated family movies in the last few years, that's for sure.

Superhero movies are all the rage now, aren't they? And it's really nothing new. Just because we haven't always had such super special effects in movies doesn't mean superheroes are a new thing. In fact, the world has had superheroes even longer than America has had comic books. I'm talking Greek mythology here - Hercules, Zeus, Thor - well, Thor was Norse, but you get the picture. I'd be hard pressed to find a culture that hasn't invented superheroes of some kind.

It's sad how bitter so many people are to the idea of God, considering one of the common reasons is that they don't want to acknowledge the truth that there's someone who's much more powerful than they are. If we as humans were really so sure that we were the most intelligent and powerful people in the universe, why do we keep inventing superheroes? We seem to find comfort in the fantasy that there are super-humans out there - people who are specially gifted to be more powerful than we are, and to take care of us.

It's sad that people prefer superheroes of our own imaginations to a God that's real. But it would be a lie to say that the reason people don't believe in God is that they don't want to believe in someone more powerful than they are, because to me, all the myths of gods and super-humans show that that isn't true.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009