remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

More photos [Saturday, May. 21, 2005, 3:10 pm]

I got my dad to pound some nails into the wall 2 nights ago, so I can hang some of my framed photos, finally. It really gives me a good sense of accomplishment to see them on the wall on display, instead of tucked into an album somewhere under the piles of junk in my room. I need to buy some more cheap frames from Wal*mart and get a few more up there.

Speaking of photography, I've often wished that I could travel to "cooler" places in order to photograph more unusual things. A co-worker of mine actually invited me to go to Italy in October. Not for free or anything, but it would have been awesome - unforunately, I'll be in school, and can't exactly take 2 weeks off whenever I feel like it.

A few weeks ago I was just sitting at the edge of a little lake at the end of our 70 acres of property, lamenting all the wonderful places I haven't been. I happened to look up, and see horses grazing in a pasture at the other end. I thought, "I didn't know they had horses." And then it hit me - I don't have to go anywhere "great" to be a good photographer. There are still so many things in my little town of less than 3,000 people that I haven't explored yet.

One of my professors said that photographing in a smaller area can teach you so much more because it stretches your skills. How can I expect to photograph in Italy if I can't even do it well in my own town? It's just that most people don't notice or care much about the things they see every day. I've thought of just spending 2 or 3 rolls on nothing but my bedroom, and seeing how much I can find in just that small space. It would probably amaze me how much I can make of a little bit of material when I really try.

Lastly - some of the better examples from my last few rolls of film. I've been too lazy to put most of these on my site yet:

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009