remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Star Wars, episode III [Thursday, May. 19, 2005, 12:14 pm]

So, last night. Return of the Sith. I mean, Revenge. Whatever. Let's just say it was insanely crowded, and it was a pretty electrified audience. As soon as the previews started, they cheered. As soon as the "Lucasfilm" thing came on the screen, they cheered. We even cheered after the Chronicles of Narnia trailer. Yes, let me start with that.

I know it's impossible to make an accurate judgment about a movie based on the trailer, but it almost seems to me like the initial mysteriousness of the house was a bit overdone. The woman says something about never bothering the professor. But in the book he met them at the door. And Edmund thought he was funny-looking so he pretended to blow his nose to hide his laughter. Come on people, get it right! Plus, Lucy looks way too young. She looked about 5. I don't think any of the kids were teenagers, but I always saw Lucy as older than a "little kid."

However, I'm excited about the way they did Aslan - MUCH better than the old BBC version of Aslan. He was basically a puppet, and walked and talked sooooo slooooowly. He sounded like and 80-year-old man. But in this version, his roar is just really cool. I guess they can mess up everything else, as long as they get Aslan right.

Well, as for the movie I actually went to see. Revenge of the Sith. I'm sure many people reading this would like to see it, so I won't give away any major plot details. Still, my opinions may be considered spoilers, so don't say I didn't warn you.

For one thing, some of the action scenes were just overdone. When so much is going on that it impairs your ability to understand what's happening, it's too much. Come on Lucas, just because you can doesn't mean you should.

And, I didn't think I'd say this, but I have to take back something I said about Hayden Christensen. He doesn't look ridiculous in long hair. The trailer just decided to show a clip from his worst scene. I think it made him look very rebellious. And I will commend the actors for doing 10 times better than episode 2, because the Anakin/Padme relationship was actually believable this time around. No more hokey love scenes, thank goodness. They were much more mature, and I could really feel the emotions they portrayed. I felt like I could really sympathize with Padme this time, whereas in episodes 1 & 2 I just couldn't. In episode 2 I wasn't really "getting" the whole love story thing, but this time I did, so good job.

And I've decided my ultimate favorite Jedi is Obi-wan Kenobi. He's just too cool. And Ewan McGregor is so awesome. Okay, enough about him. Maybe I just see things differently at midnight, I don't know.

All in all it was a very sad movie. And it really did tie everything together, so I got a sense of contentment from it, but that doesn't mean everything was fun to watch. But now I think I understand why there was some good left in Vader - because of the reason he turned to the dark side. And that's all I'm saying about that.

Well, I was smart enough to see it the night before I had a 9 o'clock class, so I got about 4 hours of sleep last night. And I can't even take a nap this afternoon because I have to drive my brother to drum lessons. I suppose I'll live.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009