remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Time for my spring cold [Thursday, May. 12, 2005, 10:46 am]

I'll admit, there are times when I'm not too appreciative of the fact that we use AOL as our internet service provider. Sometimes it's slow, other times it just gets on my nerves. But hey, when the AOL teen section decides to give its members an exclusive first look at the Chronicles of Narnia teaser trailer - I'm okay with that. Unfortunately, it's taking so long to load that it looks like I'll only get to watch half of it, at the most.

What I don't like is how AOL seems to be presenting it as just another fantasy movie to fill the hole that Star Wars and Lord of the Rings have left. It's so much more than that - at least, I hope it will be.

Anyway, I was completely out of commission yesterday, because I got a bad cold. It wasn't fun, but I'm at least thankful that it didn't hit me on Monday, when I had 2 classes (one of them a final) or Tuesday when I worked for 6 hours. Come to think of it, Wednesday was the only day of the week I had nothing to do, so I'm glad it worked out that way. I'm not 100% today, but I'm at least well enough to get out of bed and get dressed.

Laughter really can be the best medicine. Last night I watched a tape of a live Victor Borge performance. Has anyone seen anything of his? If you haven't, you should. The guy was hilarious. He died a few years ago, and when he made this tape he must've been in his 70's. Not only was he an insanely talented pianist, he knew how to work an audience and make people laugh. He was from Denmark, and used to make fun of the English language all the time. And he also mocked opera and classical music, but obviously knew quite a lot about them. ("You see, Mozart was what is known as a "bust," which means he only existed from the chest up.") I laughed so hard I had tears running down my face. Good stuff.

I have my last final this afternoon, yay! It'll be so nice to have a homework-free weekend, for once. Unfortunately, the color photography class I was going to start next week has been cancelled because of low enrollment. So I'll try to register for something else today, if there's room. There aren't many other summer classes offered that I want to take, but I'll try to find something.

*Laura*

PS: Speaking of funnymen, how could I forget to wish a happy 80th birthday to Yogi Berra! I'm certainly not a Yankee fan, but I can still be a fan of Yogi.

"I wish to thank my parents for making it all possible - and I wish to thank my children for making it necessary."

-Victor Borge-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009