remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

On truth, and being a 4-eye [Friday, Apr. 15, 2005, 9:27 pm]

I'm sure you've all had songs that you've listened to, or heard the lyrics to, and absolutely fallen in LOVE with. But then when you try to play it for other people or make them read the lyrics, their response is simply neutral. In your mind you're convinced that if such a song/lyric could have the effect it had on you, it couldn't possibly have any less on someone else. So why doesn't it work that way? Why can't everyone else be receptive to the truth? In the case of a song, it's simply that different people have different tastes. But in the case of truth, many people would say that certain "truths" only work for certain people. I think we need to be careful that we're really trying to communicate TRUTH to others, and not simply our response to the truth. Our responses are good, but there has to be more to it, or it's simply emotion.

If that makes any sense.

And now, I have an issue with something, although it's hard to put my finger on it. Has anyone ever seen "The Princess Diaries"? Personally I love it. It's one of the few "chick flicks" I can actually tolerate. For one thing, I can identify with Mia so much - she's gawky, socially awkward, and not the most attractive girl in school. So one thing I loved about the movie is that they made her realistic.

But now that I think about it, in order for her to become the Princess, she had to change. She had to wear contacts instead of glasses. She had to have her frizzy hair straightened out and made perfect. Why? Is it some type of crime for the female lead to wear glasses?

I wear glasses most of the time, and now that I really think of it, the only movie characters I can think of that wear glasses have been the "stupid" ones. Sure, my hero Groucho Marx is one of the few who wore glasses instead of contacts, but somehow it's different for males. The message seems to be that females can't be beautiful if they're wearing glasses. For once can't we just have a glasses-wearing heroine who isn't stupid, and who's intelligent without being snobby and bookish?

I hate Hollywood. Shouldn't we all?

*Laura*

"Hey, why don't you guys fight somehwere else - do you want to break my glasses?"

-Groucho

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009