remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Does my college schedule bore you as much as it interests me? [Monday, Apr. 11, 2005, 9:53 pm]

For the first time ever, I willingly left a class during the half-way break. Why? Because it was our only history class on World War 2, and the professor decided she was going to spend the entire second half showing us a documentary about gay and lesbian soldiers.

We could have watched something about the Holocaust victims for crying out loud, or possibly Anne Frank, or Japanese internment in the US, or the D-day invasion, or US propaganda of the time, or the bombing of Pearl Harbor (!!), or the dropping of the atomic bombs, or Franklin Delano Roosevelt, or US war production, or wartime rationing, or a plethora of more important subjects. But no, gay and lesbian soldiers. Hello, this is WORLD WAR 2! Are we being taught history here, or a heavily slanted political agenda?

So I just left. I'm sure not all of you would agree with me in this, but I felt it was the right thing to do, so I did it.

Well, let's get off that and think about something more exciting: I registered for classes today! Let's just say, I won't be getting any financial aid this summer, which means I'll be spending over $1000 out of my own pocket on only 2 classes. So I'm not sure if this is something I'll want to do every summer. So much for saving up to go to a "big" college.

Anyway, the classes this summer will be:

PHO 143 Color Photography 1
COM 102 Interpersonal Communications

Yes, I'm 18 years old, so I figure it's about time I learned how to communicate. And I won't be taking those at the same time - they'll be in separate 7-week sessions, one right after the other. I hope I can get plenty of hours of work this summer.

And as for the fall 2005 semester:

CHY 105 Fundamentals of Chemistry
CHY 106 Fundamentals of Chemistry lab
ENG 250 American Literature to 1900
ENG 356 The English Novel
ART 435 Black and White Photography 3

That's only 13 credit hours, but I'd like to up it to 15 next Spring. I like how there's a nice balance from each level though. Well, as for ART 435, I don't think it will be as hard as it looks. I'm taking ART 335 now, and it doesn't "feel" like a 300-level class to me. Plus, ART 435 is cross-listed with PHO 201. But I like saying ART 435 better, because it makes me feel smarter.

Those two English classes are both for my degree requirements. I can't tell you how excited I am to take "The English Novel," (although I may not feel that way in the middle of it - we shall see). My advisor says some of the novels studied will include Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights - yay!

As for Chemistry - it was one of my worst subjects in high school, so it probably seems insane that I'm taking it now. Well, there are really two reasons. First of all, the only science I like is Biology, and I can only take one bio class to count toward my science requirements, which I'm taking this semester. So for my last science class, I figured I should at least take something I've studied before. I mean, it'd be better than taking something like physics or geology that I haven't even had a high school prerequisite in. Plus this course is geared for people who aren't science majors and haven't studied chemistry before, so I don't know, maybe it won't end up being over my head. And secondly, it's being taught by the same bio professor I have now, and she's awesome.

So there you have it. If anyone has even bothered to read this far, I'll give you a mega cyber *hug* just because I love you.

*Laura*

"So I still take the trash out - does that make me too normal for you?"

-Liz Phair

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009