remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

What are they saying? [Sunday, Apr. 10, 2005, 9:03 pm]

Today has been odd. My dad had to work and my mom was sick, so I took the kids to church, and took it easy the rest of the day. I went for a walk in the woods, and it was wonderful. This is the best time of the year to go, because most of the snow has melted, and most of the mosquitoes aren't out yet, so as long as you can handle a little mud you're all set.

The woods are very peaceful. I could walk along and just forget the fact that I was having computer trouble, and not care about what classes I have tomorrow. Thankfully I was able to get the laptop up and running again, especially since I was in the middle of a paper.

On the way back, I was walking along when I heard some noise that I immediately recognized as wild turkeys gobbling. It's hard to describe, but just think about the noise a turkey makes and multiply it by 20 - that's about what it sounded like. My experience with wild turkeys in Maine is that I've never been able to see them and hear them at the same time. I've watched them cross our lawn before, and run across the road in front of our van, and like today, I've heard them in the underbrush. But no matter how long I stood and listened, I didn't see a single one. I would have run straight at the sound just to see what happened, if there wasn't a big swampy area between them and me.

I got to thinking, the noises they made sounded like nothing but complete gibberish, but why would they simply go around cackling at each other for no reason? They're smart animals - I imagine they must have been having a conversation of some sort. Or rather, a conference, judging by the volume of the cackling. Just because I didn't understand it doesn't mean it was nonsense. I don't understand physics either, but that doesn't mean it's a meaningless subject.

I wonder if animals really do talk. Why have we made so many movies, books, and TV shows involving talking animals? You know, the serpent talked to Eve in the Garden of Eden, and she didn't seem surprised. Maybe animals haven't changed much since then - maybe we simply lost our ability to understand them - or perhaps it was taken away. No, I'm not just a crazy Narnian here, I really wonder if animals have intelligent conversations with each other. Obviously they don't speak English, but why would they have the abilities to make noise if it was meaningless?

It's something to think about. I won't know for sure on this earth, so thinking about it is really all I can do.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009