remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Manaquin Skywalker [Saturday, Apr. 02, 2005, 9:08 pm]

First of all: The Chico Marx fanlisting is done!

Second of all: I just got to see part of the trailer for Star Wars 3. You know what? Hayden Christiansen looks so ridiculous in long hair. And it doesn't look like his acting has improved much from the first two films. I know, I'm probably judging him prematurely, and should wait until I actually see the film, but so far I haven't been impressed with his acting at all. Lucas could have picked someone much better to play a role as important as that of Anakin. I know, a lot of girls like Hayden because he's cute. Well I don't even think he's cute, so there's really nothing for me to be impressed with. He's more like Manaquin Skywalker than Anakin (and yes, I read that someplace).

As far as I'm concerned, the only good actors in these new Star Wars movies have been the Brits; Ewan McGregor and Liam Neeson (whose character was killed off in the first one). Ewan is a marvelous actor. I loved him in Big Fish too - how many other Scottish actors could do such a convincing American southern accent?

Anyway, back to the topic of Star Wars; I don't think there's any question that I like the originals better. Sure, the modern ones have much more modern special effects, but for me it's the actors that really make or break the movie. You can have the most expensive graphics ever produced and still end up with a sucky movie because you picked guys like Hayden Christiansen who's considered cute, but couldn't act to save his life. I'm certainly not saying the new Star Wars suck. And I'm still very excited to see how Star Wars 3 will turn out (especially since it will supposedly have Chewbacca in it!) But I really hope it contains fewer hokey love scenes than episode 2.

Where oh where is Harrison Ford when you need him?

*Laura*

"You're clear, kid. Now let's blow this thing and go home."

-One of my favorite Han Solo quotes-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009