remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Classes I want to take! [Friday, Mar. 04, 2005, 8:56 pm]

This may be an odd time to be thinking about what classes I want to take in the coming semesters, but that's what I'm doing for some reason.

My college isn't huge, but it does have a good selection of classes that may interest me. One that's on my mind right now is Forensic Photography. That just seems so cool to me. Maybe reading all these crime stories has gotten me more interested in criminal justice. It's not like I'd want to major in it or anything, but it intrigues me just the same. Crime scene investigation can't be an easy task though. I've read too many stories about crimes that haven't been solved because the crime scene was not properly protected and evaluated for evidence.

Anyway, that's a class I might like to take sometime. After I take all the other photography classes I'm looking at.

But there are also some classes I'd love to take that I haven't seen listed at this little community college. One of them is Script Writing. I just think that would be so fun. There are too many cliched TV shows and movies out there - sometimes I really think I could make it as a script-writer, at least, if directors these days would actually be interested in using clean scripts. That rules out TV, I guess.

And speaking of movies, I was watching a Marx Brothers documentary once, and one of the guys talking was referred to as a "Film historian." Now that would be very cool - a class about the history of movies. I could really get into that, considering I've seen so many old ones already. I'm sure there are classes like that at some places, but I haven't seen any listed here.

And speaking of history, you know what else I would find intriguing? A class called "The History of War." My professor in US history hasn't even touched on war, because apparently she's squeamish about that. It's not that war is pretty, but studying it still fascinates me. I'd love to learn more about Julius Caesar, Alexander the Great, Napoleon Bonaparte, George Washington, Hitler, etc. etc. But I doubt a history of war is anything I'd be able to find at a school as liberal as mine.

But my school does offer a class called "The American movie," which probably covers their history as well. And, get this, "A History of Rock and Roll." Too bad I don't care much for Elvis Presley. But that's a different avenue.

Okay, no one needs/wants to know anything more about classes I want to take. So I think I'm just going to go get some ice cream.

And get fat.

Goodbye.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009