remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Just a glimpse [Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005, 5:13 pm]

A deer walked across our driveway last night, or early this morning. I didn't see it, unfortunately, but I did see the line of footprints in the snow this afternoon.

I remember when we lived in our old house, we saw deer quite often. That's because we had a huge field out behind out house, surrounded by woods. Once I saw a group of 7 or 8 male and female deer cross the field. Occasionally we saw mother deer with babies. I've also caught glimpses of foxes, and one time, a moose.

So I thought that when we moved into a house that was essentially surrounded by woods, we would be seeing even more wild animals. That hasn't been the case though. I haven't seen a single deer here. Just squirrels and birds - how boring. I suppose the larger animals just feel threatened that the house is so close to the woods. Perhaps the big field made them feel safer since they were farther away from our house.

I've always been fascinated seeing deer or moose in the wild. They're free, wild, and at the same time frightened of us. Maybe that's why catching a glimpse of them is such a treat.

*Laura*

"Peanuuuuuuuuuuuts - to you."

-Chico Marx-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009