remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Tax refunds and good Scottish music [Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005, 6:41 pm]

Someone left me my first positive feedback comment on ebay - yay! Now that'll really give my credibility a boost. Well hey, I have to start somewhere.

Oh, and you know what else? A few days ago I received my state tax refund check. Guess how much it was for?

$1

I'M RICH!!! It's weird getting a check for $1. I mean, it probably costs more than that just to deposit the thing, when you factor in gas and all that. It'd be simpler for all if they just gave me a dollar bill or something, but it's not like they'd do that.

Anyway. I'll leave you with the lyrics to a song from a group I've been listening to a lot lately - the Corries. They're a Scottish group (with lovely Scottish accents), from the 1970's, who did a lot of traditional songs about Bonnie Prince Charlie, Robert the Bruce, bonnie lasses, you know - Scottish history. It's good stuff.

*Laura*

I will go, I will go
When the fightin' is over
To the land of McLeod
That I left to be a soldier
I will go, I will go

When the King's son came along
He called us all together
Saying "Brave Higland men,
Will ye fight for my father?"
I will go, I will go

I've a buckle on my belt
A sword in my scabbard
A red coat on my back
And a shilling in my pocket
I will go, I will go

I will go, I will go
When the fightin' is over
To the land of McLeod
That I left to be a soldier
I will go, I will go

When they put us all on board
The lasses were singing
But the tears came to their eyes
When the bells started ringing
I will go, I will go

When we landed on the shore
And saw the foreign heather
We knew that some would fall
And would stay here forever
I will go, I will go

I will go, I will go
When the fightin' is over
To the land of McLeod
That I left to be a soldier
I will go, I will go

When we came back to the glen
The winter was turnin'
Our goods lay in the snow
And our houses were burnin'
I will go, I will go.

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009