remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And this is love... [Saturday, Feb. 12, 2005, 12:51 pm]

Valentine's Day is very close and love is in the air. Yay. I'm still going to do my annual love song lyrics post, but that can wait until then.

You know what? I've never really cared much for Valentine's Day. I think it's become something completely different than what it was intended to be. Is love a bouquet of a dozen red roses? Is love a heart-shaped box of chocolates? Is love a big hug from someone who thinks you're beautiful? Any of those things could represent love, but what good are they if they're only done for show, or lust?

What is love anyway? People ask that a lot, and I think it's just as blinded as Pilate standing in front of Jesus and asking "What is truth?"

I'm going to post some lyrics from Third Day that represent a different kind of love - not the kind that's being commercialized around this time of year:

I've heard it said
That a man would climb a mountain
Just to be with the one he loves
How many times
Has he broken that promise?
It has never been done

I've never climbed the highest mountain
But I walked the hill of Calvary

Just to be with you, I'll do anything
There's no price I would not pay
Just to be with you, I'll give anything
I would give my life away

I've heard it said
That a man would swim the ocean
Just to be with the one he loves
But all of those dreams
Are an empty emotion
It can never be done

I've never swam the deepest ocean
But I walked upon the raging sea

Just to be with you, I'll do anything
There's no price I would not pay
Just to be with you, I'll give anything
I would give my life away

I know that you don't understand
The fullness of My love
How I died upon the cross for your sins
And I know that you don't realize
How much that I gave you
But I promise, I would do it all again

Just to be with you, I've done everything
There's no price I did not pay
Just to be with you, I gave everything
Yes, I gave my life away

That's love, people. And don't you forget it.

I won't be getting roses, chocolates, or hugs from any guy this year. But that's okay; I know who loves me more than that. Plus I have money and a car - I'm perfectly capable of buying chocolate for myself.

Boys smell bad anyway.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009