remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Real nutrition [Friday, Feb. 04, 2005, 9:40 am]

I've been having a lot of fun with the "diet analysis" software that I have to use for my Nutrition class. Guess what? I consume too much fat and sugar! Go me!

No, there are definitely some interesting things to it as well. It shows how many servings from each food group I've had, as well as how many Calories and vitamins, and stuff like that. I think when Easter comes I'll put in all the chocolate I eat just to see how outrageously off the richter the "fats and sweets" category will be - teeheehee.

All this nutrition talk reminds me of something I once heard from a Creation scientist. He puts out videos of his presentations, and I remember once he was talking about seeds. He said that some scientists had found that a certain vitamin found in seeds, known as B-17, might lower the risk of cancer. That may not seem like such a big deal, considering lots of foods make claims like that, but then he showed us this verse, from Genesis 1:29:

"And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat."

I'm pretty sure there was another verse too, but alas, I can't remember it. But why such emphasis on seeds? Maybe God knew they were good for us. Maybe He even knows things about nutrition that scientists haven't found "links" to yet.

And you have to remember, this was at a time when people weren't allowed to eat meat. Maybe seeds provided them with all they needed. And maybe they still do. Who knows? Well, the Creator probably does.


*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009