remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cold weather - the good, the bad, the amusing [Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005, 6:31 pm]

It was -16 degrees this morning. It took my car several seconds to start. My speedometer seems to have problems - apparently it's one of those old ones that measures speed using two turning discs, and the substance in between the discs obviously doesn't like cold, because the colder it is (usually first thing in the morning), the more it tends to stick. I was driving down the 45 mph road this morning and it said I was doing 85. Haha.

It's never been that extremely off before, probably because it hasn't been this cold before. Does anyone else with an "older" car in a cold climate have this problem? (Mine's a '92, even though I don't really consider it "old")

A big snow storm is predicted for tonight and tomorrow morning - we may get a foot or more by the time it's all over. Despite my dislike of below zero temperatures, I often find snowstorms almost romantic at times.

I'm sure they aren't to the plowmen, or other people who happen to be out in the middle of them. But just sitting in my room, watching the big flakes coming down outside, and feeling safe in spite of it all - that's romantic somehow. Don't ask why. It just is.

*Laura*

"Look to my coming at first light - at dawn, look to the East."

-Gandalf-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009