remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Photo lab! Yessss! [Friday, Jan. 21, 2005, 11:12 am]

So, Photo II is looking good. The class is about twice the size of PHO 101, and all female again. Come on now - aren't there any boys who want to be photographers? Ah well.

I walked into the classroom (which appears to take up the entire basement of the little building), and saw stuff piled up on the sides of the room - junky-looking stuff. The place smelled like paint, which gave me the strong impression that it wasn't quite finished yet.

But after the introduction to the class, the prof. gave us a little tour of the new photo lab. It's seriously over twice the size of the old one, and has around 25 (brand new) enlargers. It's so awesome, I'm just itching to get back in the darkroom! One of the girls was like, "Wow, for the first time in my life, I'm actually impressed with this school!" I guess occasionally they do know how to do something good with all our tuition $$$.

And the funny thing is, with all the new equipment and space, they apparently only had room for one bathroom. Oh well, I'm used to it anyway, after surviving 5 years in a house with 9 family members and one bathroom.

The weird thing about this course is that it doesn't look all that much harder than 101. In PHO 101, we had to write 2 papers and take 2 exams, along with 5 photo assignments, 5 critiques, and a final portfolio. In ART 335, we don't have any papers or exams, and have only 4 shooting assignments and 3 critiques, as well as the final portfolio. Hey, I ain't complainin'.

The assignments are a lot more specific though, so that might be why there are fewer. For the first one, we have to use about 4 rolls of film taking pictures of an object that means a lot to us - in as many ways possible. I haven't even decided what to use yet. My diary means a lot to me, but that seems kinda private. Is a debit card too small for this kind of thing? And I suppose my laptop would be kind of awkward. CD's would be interesting, but I wouldn't want to get them all dirty. I'm thinking a stuffed animal would be more practical. Hmmm...my little Eeyore, or the seal I got at the Plymouth Plantation gift shop? I'd better decide soon.

*Laura*

"With a little study you'll go a long way, and I wish you'd start now."

-Groucho-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009