remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Save the humans! [Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004, 6:48 pm]

Sometimes I just have so many things that I want to say, that I need to make a list, or I'll forget them. I suppose not talking much simply means that I have even more to say in a different way.

Anyway, shall I start off today with an illustration? :

For those who can see it, it's the cover of Ian Eskelin's CD - a picture of him holding up one of those "protest sign" thingies, which says "Save the humans". Clever, isn't it? That leads me to think about how ironic it is that people will waste so much time and money petitioning and protesting against animal treatment, when people are being murdered by the hundreds every day in this country.

Now, to get one thing straight, I do believe that our job as humans is to take care of the earth - even that can turn into an obsession, but I don't believe animals should be slaughtered needlessly, and if they have to be killed, it should be done as quickly and painlessly as possible.

But there are just too many people who have taken this protection of animals to an insane level. One thing I've gradually been getting tired of hearing about is all the different "endangered species" out there. There seems an obsessive-compulsive desire in some people to make sure that no miniscule species of animal ever completely dies out - and some people are willing to dedicate their lives to this ideal.

And it's often the dodo birds that I think of when I think of endangered species, for some reason. The dodos are usually used as an example of one of those poor species that just didn't make it. I mean, it is kind of sad that they aren't around anymore. But when I think of all the things that the world has lost, the fact that there are no longer any cute little dodo birds running around in my backyard isn't exactly on top of my list.

Look, I'm all for conservation, and I think some animals' habitats should just be left alone. But I just get mad hearing about people refusing to fix extremely dangerous roads because "endangered" plants grow in the area. Or shutting off a water supply to humans because of poor little "endangered" salmon. Or designating 700,000 acres of land for a few "endangered" owls to live in. What next? Will people start suing us for swatting houseflies? Yes, the time may come when the USA is tragically bereaved of all Northern Spotted Owls. And at the risk of sounding cold, unemotional, or unfeeling: who cares?

This all reminds me of a quote from the movie "The Swiss family Robinson". When the family is shipwrecked and trying to find a way to shore, one of the sons argues that they should try to take as many of the animals with them as they can. The father wisely replies: "When your mother and your brothers are safe on land, then you can talk to me about the animals - not before."

Maybe when there are no more innocent children killed in this country, we can really worry about the Northern Spotted Owl. Maybe when every human on this planet has enough to eat and a roof over their head, we can worry about the "endangered" species of salmon. But not before then.

"Nature demands that all species adapt to change � or die. This was nature's law long before the first environmental organization came into existence, and it will remain nature's law long after the last environmental organization becomes extinct. It is not only presumptuous, it is profoundly stupid for environmental organizations to think that this fundamental law of nature can be repealed."

-freerepublic.com-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009