remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Enjoying my chocolate stash [Sunday, Dec. 26, 2004, 4:14 pm]

So here I am, going through my annual day-after-Christmas routine of:

"Okay, I think that's quite enough chocolate for one day. Well, okay - I'll have ONE more piece. Well, okay, two, but THAT'S ALL. Well..."

But it's okay - that can be expected around this time of year. As soon as the chocolate's gone, I'll stop. Hehehehe. What I don't like is when I do this during other times of the year. My weakness is devouring food simply because it's about to be thrown away. Say, for example, my mom offers me leftovers of someting - bread, pie, pastry - something I sort of like, but don't really need.

Usually I'm good and say, "No thanks, I've had enough today."

But then she says, "Oh, okay, because I was just going to throw it away."

"NO! DON'T THROW IT AWAY! I'LL EAT IT!!"

I think my rationale is something along the lines of, "People are starving in other countries, so food should never be thrown away unless it's bad."

But that's completely illogical - me eating food isn't going to alleviate the hunger of starving people anywhere. It's not like I'm overweight, but still, that doesn't mean I'm in good shape. I need to start jogging or something.

In the meantime, can I recommend two forms of entertainment/enlightenment that I have partaken of recently? The first is Shrek 2. Now, as much as I liked the first one, I really was expecting the sequel to be something of a flop, considering sequels generally are (with the exception of Star Wars and Lord of the Rings). But it was hilarious. My favorite scene is the opening one, and one where Donkey was getting restless during the journey to "Far far away". He reminds me of my little brothers during long car rides.

The other recommendation is a book I'm in the middle of, called "No Compromise: the life story of Keith Green". Most people don't even know who he was - let's just say he was one of the most influential Christian musicians ever, and died when he was only 28. The first part of the book has dealt with his prodigious musical talent, as well as his search for truth and experimentation in all kinds of weird religions and drugs. Seems like he was some kind of hippie or something. I've been listening to his music since I was a kid, so it's pretty amazing to learn more about who he really was.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009