remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So this is Christmas - and what have you done? Another year over - a new one just begun. [Monday, Dec. 20, 2004, 8:21 pm]

I'm in the middle of producing 82 copies of our (late) Christmas newsletter for my parents. I swear, we know too many people.

It's so good to be done with school for the semester. And Christmas is almost here. For once I really have no idea what I'm getting for Christmas. Usually I can guess pretty well, but I haven't really been asking for anything this year. Last year I pretty much knew that I'd be getting Pirates of the Caribbean on dvd, since everyone knew how much I liked it, but I'm not so sure about this year.

It's probably because I'm less concerned about presents this year. To me, the coolest part will be watching my family open the pictures I made for them, and seeing if they like them or not.

This season is causing me to think back to some of our more memorable Christmases. There was one year that we had planned to drive down to Pennsylvania for Christmas, to visit my Grandparents. The only weekday my dad could get off work was Friday - Christmas day. So we ended up driving down there (9 hours) on Christmas, and then coming back on Sunday. It was kinda crazy, but the ride down was actually fun. We opened all our presents in the van, and so we had plenty of things to keep us occupied with during the rest of the trip.

There was another year when I was about 7, and we lived in Scotland - us kids were always allowed to go downstairs and get our stockings at 6 am and no earlier. Well, I woke up in the middle of the night and looked at my clock. It said 2:35, but I was looking at it upside down (it was laying on my night side table) and thought it said 7:10. We had lost power during the night, so I had to get a flashlight and wake up my sister (I wondered at the time why it was so hard to wake her up). I went to tell my dad about the power, so I walked into my parents' room, shining a flashlight all over the place. My dad woke up and said, "What are you doing?? It's 2 in the morning!"

So I ended up going back to bed and didn't wake up again until 7:30. I think that's the latest I've ever slept on a Christmas morning.

So there you have two boring stories about some of my more interesting Christmases. I really don't know if I want to get up early this Christmas. I'm not a kid anymore - it doesn't excite me as much as it used to. But somehow I think I've kept the excitement longer than usual, because I have so many younger siblings, and almost feel like one of them on Christmas morning, despite my age. Hey, there's no need to grow up too quickly.

*Laura*


Spaulding: "Art. Well, I don't know how we drifted around to that, but what is your opinion of art?"
Chandler: "I am very glad you asked me!"
Spaulding: "I withdraw the question! This fellow takes things seriously, it isn't safe to ask him a simple question!"

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009