remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ah, the joys of travel [Monday, Nov. 29, 2004, 8:05 pm]

Thanks for the nice comments while I was gone! :-) I really do appreciate them. I hope all of you had great Thanksgivings too!

I've spent over 20 hours riding in our van this weekend. I brought 15 CD's with me, and listened to all of them at least once. At least I didn't have to drive.

It was nice to get away from classes and work for a few days, even if it meant sleeping on a mattess on the floor. Actually, it was either that or sleep in a bed with one of my sisters, so I was glad to be alone. Nothing against them, I'm just not too fond of sharing my bed with people, even sisters.

*ahem*, anyway, Thanksgiving dinner was very nice - only 11 people total, which was a lot more subdued than usual, for us. We had some good food too - the only problem was that there was no egg nog! Oh well, I'm not complaining, and I'm sure my hips aren't either.

My grandparents have cable TV, so we got to watch some movies & shows that we don't usually see. As much as I enjoyed that, I'd have to truthfully say that I'm glad we don't have cable at our house. Because if we did, I'd be glued to it, and I'm quite capable of procrastinating without it. Besides, the only channels that are even worth watching are TVLand, the history channel, and occasionally ESPN or Starz. But we did get to watch "The Santa Clause". That's a great movie. I like Bernard.

Since no other relatives were present for Thanksgiving, we ended up visiting them. It wasn't bad, but I just don't like visiting people's houses for up to 6 hours at a time, simply for socializing. I mean, it makes sense considering we don't see them very often, but long time periods like that always stretch my meager social skills to their breaking point.

And that's why I dislike being told to "talk more", "be more assertive", and "do you ever try to volunteer information without it being pried out of you with a crowbar?" I'm sorry, but to me, comments like that come across as, "you need to change the way you are." Can't do it. Sorry. I've tried.

Anyway, it was a good visit overall. I have to do some unpacking though, because tomorrow is back to the daily grind.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009