remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

He knows what He's doing...always. [Monday, Nov. 08, 2004, 9:27 pm]

A few days ago I just felt like reading the book of Habakkuk before bed. Most Bible-readers usually pass on by that book, since it's small and jumbled around with the rest of the "minor prophets" of the old testament. But it's my favorite book in the Bible, in part because it's so relevant to today, despite its age.

Basically, it's a discourse between Habakkuk and God. Habakkuk asks the age-old question, "Why is there so much evil in the world, and why aren't You doing something about it?" And God answered him... at the end of the book, Habakkuk almost seemed repentant for questioning God at all, and wrote these words that have always comforted me:

"I heard and my heart pounded,
my lips quivered at the sound;
decay crept into my bones,
and my legs trembled.

Yet I will wait patiently for the day of calamity
to come on the nation invading us.

Though the fig tree does not bud
and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the LORD ,
I will be joyful in God my Savior.

The Sovereign LORD is my strength;
he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,
he enables me to go on the heights."

In modern contexts, that might say something like, "I will wait for those who have attacked us to be defeated. Even though there's no gas in the car, no food in the pantry, and no money in the checking account, I will rejoice in God my Savior." Think what you want - I think it's beautiful.

It's funny how people who question God in the Bible are so often led to a place of utter repentance and humility. It was also the case with Job, who lost everything he owned, and decided to question God about it. When God got through responding to him, this is what Job said:

"I know that You can do all things;
no plan of yours can be thwarted.
You asked, 'Who is this that obscures my counsel without knowledge?'
Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
things too wonderful for me to know.

"You said, 'Listen now, and I will speak;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.'
My ears had heard of You
but now my eyes have seen You.
Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes."

That's the point of this entire long-winded entry....even if everything collapses around my ears (which, in comparison to Job, it never has), God is still with me, and questioning Him will only lead me to discover that I am utterly worthless, and without Him I would be nothing, regardless of how well or how poorly my circumstances are faring.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009