remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Red Sox baseball - it's not a game, it's a way of life [Friday, Oct. 29, 2004, 8:29 pm]

The course listings for spring 2005 are out now, and we'll be able to register in a few days. Yay! Why does that excite me? I don't know. I'm beginning to wonder if I really am an over-achiever of some sort. Actually, I'm beginning to wonder about a lot of things.

Such as, why am I turning into some type of speed demon? When I first drove on the highway alone, I stuck to 65 mph and didn't dare pass anyone. Now I average around 70-75, and pass whenever necessary - even big 18-wheelers. And it's not like I'm ever in danger of being late for anything.

Getting back to school talk: I'm trying to decide which photography class to take next semester. I'm thinking I should continue with intermediate black & white photography, although there are color photography courses too. But then, if I saved that for next fall, I'd get to take pictures of the lovely foliage, instead of the dirty old february snow, which would work better for black & white.

If I had my wish, I'd be somewhere else next year though. I'm beginning to see that it will probably be inevitable for me to get by without borrowing money if I go somewhere else, even if it isn't a very expensive school. We have like, no money available for that sort of thing, and my savings account probably won't even pay for one semester's worth of tuition.

I do want to save money, but I don't want to be stuck at a little community college for the next 3-4 years of my life. You know what? I want to study abroad. Wouldn't it be awesome to spend a semester studying English at, say...Oxford University in London? It's only a dream, but I'd really like to make it come true, without saddling myself with debt that I won't be able to pay back until I'm 50.

Ah well. You know what's funny? I'd really like to get a minor in photography. No, that's not the funny part - it's that my mom graduated with a major in French, and a minor in art history (ever so many years ago ;-). Wouldn't it be interesting if I ended up graduating with a major in English and a minor in photography? If that happens (which I hope it will), me and my mom will both end up majoring in a language, and minoring in something art-related. It's weird - sometimes I think my mom and I don't have a lot in common, but maybe the problem is that we're too alike.

And lastly - HOW 'BOUT THEM RED SOX??? 86 years, and boy did they deserve it. Poor Nomar.

*Laura*

"I refuse to be locked up in here like a prison cell, when all I ever get is a meal and four walls. I used to be just fine in here, but not anymore - I'm gonna break through these steel bars."

-Jill Phillips-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009