remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Broadway, photos, and Mr. Bustin [Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004, 11:05 pm]

I just sped home from class to watch the second half of a PBS show called "Broadway: the American Musical". It was cool. In the description, it said something about the Marx brothers, but then they only actually showed a 10-second clip. But I guess they have to be fair to everyone. It definitely intrigued me though. I think it would have been so cool to have grown up in the 20's, believe it or not.

Another thing I noticed was the huge number of vaudeville acts that started out, hoping to make it to Broadway. It's actually a lot like today. Kids & teens start bands, hoping to someday make it to Nashville. They travel the country (or state) and play for everyone, in hopes of being "discovered", and maybe making some money. Well, that's how the Marx brothers started out anyway, so it can't be all bad.

Oh, and speaking of photography class tonight, I just found out that a paper I thought was due on Thursday is actually due in a week. Well at least I was PREPARED! That's better than staying up until 2 a.m. every night because you've procrastinated, right?

Speaking of this paper, it's a contemporary photographer bio page. When I first started out, I seriously didn't know any contemporary photographers. But I've discovered this guy named Michael Kenna, who works in black & white, and his pictures are so gorgeous. He's the one I'm doing the paper on. Plus there's some guy from England named Derek Langley, whose b&w work is just as cool. Some people are just so talented.

Last but not least - apparently someone with the last name of Bustin is running for office in my part of the county, because I've been seeing a ton of signs by the roadsides that say "BUSTIN LEGISLATURE". My dad says, "Well that's a great idea - I've always wanted to go in and bust some legislature!"

G'night folks.

*Laura*

"If you were waiting for the opportune moment - that was it."

-Captain Jack Sparrow-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009