remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Road test attempt #3 [Friday, Oct. 01, 2004, 10:57 am]

Today I got up at 7:30, to take my road test yet again. It's funny, because I just don't get to sleep in anymore. Actually, that's not funny, it's sad. The funny part is that now I considering "sleeping in" to be getting up a little after 8. Yeah, that's sad too.

So, I tried to calm myself down. I mean, the whole test is only half an hour, and after that there's no stress at all, so I was trying to make myself relax. And I think it helped that I had the same instructor that I had the first time.

Well, I'm glad to say that I avoided any major disasters this time, because I didn't encounter any emergency vehicles, and the construction work was pretty much done. But I still made some little mistakes. Wide left turn. Not-wide-enough right turn. Almost hitting the curb on said right turn. Not to mention I didn't get close enough to the curb on my parallel parking. But he told me to pull out into the road and try it again. And I did - and I got it right that time.

The scariest thing about road tests is when you see the instructor person writing on their clipboard. It's unnerving. I had mixed feelings when we pulled into the parking lot. I knew I had messed up a few little things, but at the same time, I knew it would me insane for them to expect perfection. I also knew that I had done much better on this test, as opposed to the previous ones.

So we parked and he was writing on his clipboard some more. Not a good sign...

But as he handed me the paper, I noticed that it wasn't one of those big white sheets that gives you your next scheduled test appointment. He told me I needed to be careful of my turns (although it's not like I'm usually nervous enough to flub them up), but that I'd passed. I couldn't believe it! Well, I could, but still, it was cool.

FINALLY! I knew I'd do it eventually, but I was wondering how many times it would take. Well, 3rd time's the charm, right?

I'm wondering if the fact that my dad took me this time had something to do with it. Who knows. Anyway, we went into the building, and after waiting for a long time, I got my picture taken (probably one of the worst I've ever seen of me - gee, I would've done my hair a little neater if I knew I'd be getting a license), and the "real" license will be here in a few weeks.

So, it's certainly going to be weird, driving all alone. Although now I can listen to MY music instead of stuff that my mom can tolerate too ;-) I guess I'll be taking the car to work today - scary.

I'm sure my mom's happy, because she won't have to disrupt her schedule to chauffer me to school anymore. And now my little siblings are probably all going to be begging me for rides. I'm thinking of installing one of those taxi meters in my car, so I can make a little money from this service ;-)

But the good thing is, since I'm 18, the rule about only carrying family member passengers for the first 90 days, doesn't apply. I think I'm going to go make fun of Zack, because even though he got his license before me, he still has to wait until February to carry passengers, because he's 17. Hahaha!

Okay, I've gotta go do college stuff, & other stuff. Much thanks to those of you who encouraged me about the whole road test thing. I'm so glad it's behind me now!

*Laura*

"There is a time for all purposes under the sun."

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009