remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

In-class English assignment [Monday, Sept. 20, 2004, 6:23 pm]

I hate coming on here just to whine - it makes me sound so pathetic. But I caught a stupid cold yesterday, so I've been sniffling all day. There's another good thing about homeschooling: if I was sick, I could always take a day off. Not the case now. I have to keep up with my work, no matter how I'm feeling. Nobody's going to postpone anything for me because I was sick.

Oh well. As long as I take it easy and don't over-exert myself, I should be okay. That's why I'm not going skating tonight.

I've noticed something: during summertime, I had plenty of writing inspiration in me. And a good portion of it was directed here. But now that most of my writing energy is being poured into school, I feel that what I've been putting on here lately has been lacking.

So, what better way to remedy this than to post some school writings? Here's something I had to write during English class. We were supposed to write about some event from our childhood - preferably something embarrassing, that we still remember now.

We wrote it from the perspective of an adult, and then from the perspective we would have had at that age. I actually volunteered to share mine with the class, which was very scary for me, but I've gotta get used to it, I suppose.

"When I was about 6 years old, I held the view that all of the teenagers and 'big kids' around were cooler than me. I used to watch the things they did, and try to imitate them.
One thing they did that looked risky and daring was leaning very far backwards while they were on the swings. As they were swinging, they used their legs to hold onto the chains, and let their heads dangle a few inches above the ground.
This fascinated me, for some reason. I felt as though I would be nothing but an ordinary swinger unless I could master this trick.
Well, one day at the playground, I met a boy who was 3 years older than me. We were off doing our own things in not too long, but for some reason, I decided to try and get his attention.
Looking back, I have no idea why I did this. In fact, there are a lot of stupid, childish things that I did, which obviously seemed worth doing at the time, but seem to have no reason behind them today. So anyway, I tried the swing trick."

<6-year-old's voice> "I saw some big kids going this cool trick on the swings once. It looks cool, and when they do it, they look so 'in control'. Hey, I have an idea! Maybe if I try that trick on these swings, and make a lot of noise, I can get that boy over there to look at me!
Okay, here I go... whoa, this is fun! Ahh, um... slipping. I'm looking over to the boy... he's totally absorbed in something else. His own musings, maybe? Hey! Look at me! Whoa... my pants are caught on the chain! Ahh...slipping! I'm stuck... Oh great, here's my mom. She gets me unstuck, pulls my pants up, and says, 'Now cut that out! You were just trying to get his attention, so stop it!' How do mothers always know these things?"

I've changed a lot since then, haven't I?

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009