remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Just a nice sunny day at the fair [Sunday, Sept. 12, 2004, 10:10 pm]

Our anual trip to the local fair can be a lot of fun. But putting two little boys together in the back seat of the car, both of whom had won those inflatable hammer-thingies, was not a good idea. Violent hammer wars ensued. The hammers were then confiscated, by me, until our vehicle reached home.

Ah, the joys of little brothers.

I love these little fairs. They aren't too crowded, although some of the teenagers that hang out there are kind of creepy. But going to the fair always makes me feel like a country girl.

I like looking at the livestock, especially the piglets, and the huge horses. And the exhibition hall is always cool. I even entered a few things too. No blue ribbons for me this year, but I'll try to prepare more things next year.

My mom entered a jar of my dad's homemade maple syrup. He got second place. As I told him later, "You know, second out of 2 really isn't all that bad!"

I only went on one ride this year. I just wasn't feeling up to riding the "Zipper", and, would you believe it, there was no ferris wheel this year! That's just wrong. You can't have a real fair without a ferris wheel.

Plus, the assignment I'm working on for photography class is called "vantage point" - looking at different ways to photograph a subject. And gee, a shot from the top of the ferris wheel would certainly have been a unique vantage point! Oh well.

Well, I just got done reading my assigned history chapters, finally. So I should get to bed, considering my class starts in less than 11 hours. Goodnight.

*Laura*

"I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father."

-Paul Hamm-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009