remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Letter to a friend [Tuesday, Sept. 07, 2004, 11:05 am]

It's been a while since I talked to you in person, or even heard much about you. But as of late, the things that I've heard and the things that you've said have made me want to ask one question: What happened to you?

I remember when you and I had so much in common, and we would do things together - sleepovers, outings, and attending various church functions. We didn't share our deepest, darkest secrets. We weren't "best friends". But you were still one of the only ones I had.

You stopped coming to church after a while. Was it the more detailed Bible studies we started doing that made you lose interest? Or was it just because your family didn't want to go anymore? I always wondered if all the church-hopping made you feel like you didn't belong anywhere.

Well, a few years passed. I really didn't see you much. But I didn't forget that you existed, and I'm glad you remembered me too.

Then I heard from your younger sister that you'd been punished for attending a bad party. I couldn't believe it. You? You'd had many of the same values as me, hadn't you? Didn't you know right from wrong?

Now, a year later, I know the rumors are true. I know that you smoke. I know some of the other things that you unashamedly admit to doing. And it makes me sad. Because I remember the person that you used to be, and as much as I still love you, I miss that person. I miss the innocence. Why do you think you have to be 'dirty' to fit in? Are the things you're involved in really as glamorous as they appeared, in the movies you watched and the music you listened to?

Don't get me wrong - I don't claim to know everything you've experienced. And I know you've had a rougher life than me. Your parents' divorce must have shaken a lot of the things that you believed in. And your older sisters haven't exactly been the best role models for you.

But all the same, I hope I never condemn you. I hope you realize that if you ever want to talk to me, I'll listen to you, even though you live hundreds of miles away now. I hope you know that I still want to be your friend, even though I don't completely know how.

And I sincerely hope you won't forget about me. Because I haven't forgotten about you.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009