remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Homeschooling/College [Friday, Sept. 03, 2004, 6:27 pm]

First off, just a note about the Republican National Convention. One thing and that'll be all, I promise: I loved what Rudy Guliani said about how John Kerry changes his position on issues so many times that he has to google himself just to remember where he stands. Haha, so true.

Well, the normal part of my week is complete. It seems like Monday was ages ago, because my days are full to the brim now - rather than almost indistinguishable from each other, like many of my summer days were.

I've been thinking a lot about the differences and similarities between college and homeschooling. So why don't I share those now?

Things I'm not quite used to:

1. Well, for starters, I've never had to lug a 20-ton backpack around every day. Here at home, it really isn't that far from the bookshelf to my room, where I do my work.

2. Kids my age!! Actually, most of them aren't kids per se, but it's a very different feeling to be one of the youngest people there, rather than the oldest. It's nice though - I feel like I fit in better.

3. Different teachers. Or rather, professors. At home, my mom was the teacher of every subject, with the occasional exception of my dad, who would help me with algebra when I needed it (which was often). Here, each professor is very well-educated in their field of expertise.

4. Leaving home every time I have a class. Which means I have to use up gas money now, and I don't get to lay around the house much anymore. Darn.

5. More resources. There's a good-sized library here at the college, as well as several computer labs, a cafe, vending machines (okay, should I really count those?), and even tutoring, if the need should arise.

6. Speaking of vending machines, I now have to pay for my snacks, instead of heading right down to the fridge to get something to eat. I'm definitely not used to that.

7. Due dates. My mom never really told me, "Okay, here's your assignment, have it in my this date." I just did it, and then handed it in when I was done. Same thing with tests - I took them when I was ready. But at the same time, I generally didn't lag behind.

8. Stress. As a homeschooler, stress is something I've only heard about.

Things I've had plenty of practice in:

1. Working on my own. As high school progressed, I learned to be more and more independent with my schedule. My mom usually didn't have to tell me to do things - I just did them when I needed to, and kept up the pace. I think that's a plus.

2. Paying for supplies. Well, my parents paid for them while I was in high school, but unlike public school kids, my education has never been free for my family. Of course, parts of our taxes are still used in the public schools, we just don't get any benefits from it. Each one of us kids saves the state around $12,000 per year by being homeschooled, and they can't even buy our books for us - sheesh.

3. Listening to and respecting those in charge. Hey, when I was homeschooled it was my parents who were in charge - so it's not like they would have let me get away with much disrespect.

Hmmmm - my lists are rather uneven. Despite that, adjusting to the whole college thing really hasn't been as difficult as I thought it would be. Although I'm sure it will only get harder from here on.

*Laura*

"The road to success is lined with many tempting parking spaces."

-unknown-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009