remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The logic between hot and cold [Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2004, 5:06 pm]

I think it's interesting how young children often take things so literally. I know because I used to do that (considering that I used to be a young child myself).

I remember once when I was about 3 or 4, my parents were listening to a radio program, and it was all staticy. The voice sounded very scratchy, and I couldn't tell what it was talking about. I asked my parents, "What's this?" They told me it was Dr. Dobson (the name of the man who was speaking).

And I distinctly remember several times after that, when I heard someone talking on a radio that was staticy and hard to hear, I just thought, "Oh, that's Dr. Dobson." It wasn't of course, but I hadn't yet reached the age at which I was able to logically connect facts in my head (although I still have trouble with it at times). As far as I was concerned, Dr. Dobson was on everybody's radio, all the time, simply because of the way my parents had answered my question.

Now I try to be more logical about things, but there is one area in which I'm blatantly contradicting logic, and don't even care. It's the area of temperature and weather. I read someone's opinion on this once. He said that he would prefer to live in a colder climate, because logically, you can always put on an extra layer of clothing if you're cold, whereas if you're hot, you can only take off so much. And even if you do, there's no guarantee that it will cool you down.

Is it any surprise that a male wrote that? I base my decisions more on feelings. If it feels too cold, I hate it. If it feels too hot, it doesn't bother me quite as much.

So there you have my illogical explanation of climate.

I suppose I should be fair though. I really do love Maine. I love being in a small state that isn't overcrowded. And it really is a good state for someone who likes photography. I love the foliage in autumn, the way newly fallen snow looks in winter, the rocky beaches, the woods, and the wild turkeys and deer.

If it weren't for the freezing temperatures during the winter, it would be almost perfect here. But I guess I can't have everything.

The last few days of summer are here. Which means the first few days of winter are getting closer. *groan*

*Laura*

"I have a photographic memory. Unfortunately, I ran out of film years ago."

-Ken Davis-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009