remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Youthfulness is good - really [Sunday, Aug. 15, 2004, 5:15 pm]

My Aunt and Uncle and 2 cousins left early this morning, to be missionaries to the Ivory Coast. I really hope they'll have a safe journey - they originally left that country because of the turmoil, but now they're going back. We'll definitelly miss them, and pray for their safety.

For the past few years that they've been home, I've gotten used to seeing them around Thanksgiving and Christmas time, so it will certainly be different in the years to come. If all goes well, they might be away for as long as 5 years.

Which means I might be as old as 23 before I see them again. I can't even fathom being 23. I'm having enough trouble comprehending the fact that I'm 18! I've been told that I look young for my age.

One girl at NBBI this February said I looked about 13. And at camp last year, a boy said he thought me & my sis were 14 and 12. And guess which one he thought was the 12-year-old? Yep, me. Well maybe he's just a bit wacked, but I still don't think I look that young. It would probably be easier to take if so many people didn't think my little sister was older than me!

Maybe it's because she's taller than me. You know what? Even though I'm the oldest, I might very well end up being the shortest child in my family. I think it's probably safe to assume that all 4 of my little brothers will eventually be taller than me (and one of them is very close already). That means my only hope is Dorothy - she's 10 now, so she's still shorter than me. We'll just have to see how tall she ends up getting.

There is one encouraging angle to all this - if people think my sister is older than me now, then they'll probably think the same thing 20 years from now. And I probably won't mind it so much then.

*Laura*

"Beauty? Let me tell you something�being thought of as beautiful has spared me nothing in life. No heartache, no trouble. Love has been difficult. Beauty is essentially meaningless, and it is always transitory. Personally, I'm really saddened by the way women mutilate their faces today in search of that. There is this plastic, copycat look evolving that's frightening to me. ... It's really insane and I feel sad for what society is doing to women."

-Halle Berry- (and I heartily agree)

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009