remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Happy Birthday to me.... [Wednesday, Aug. 04, 2004, 5:23 pm]

I'm 18 today. Hurray for me! Actually, I'm not all that excited for some reason. Yes, 18 is quite a milestone. But I suppose birthdays don't make me giddy like they used to. Which is probably a good thing.

Wow, 18. Wasn't I 16 just a little while ago? Wasn't I 14 only a few months ago?

I remember that when I was 12 or 13, I used to have this mental picture of how I'd be when I turned 18. I figured that by the time I turned 18, I'd probably be going places. I'd have a driver's license, a steady boyfriend, confidence in where I was going in life, and enough sociel poise and grace to strike up a conversation with anyone. All I can say to that idea now is:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

One thing I've come to realize is that, no matter how old I get, I'll still be me.

Hopefully at least some maturity and poise will be added through the years, but even at 18, I'm the same person on the inside that I was when I was 11.

I still have many of the same thoughts, problems, and strengths. And even though I'm totally the same, I'm also very different now. Maybe less childish? I'd like to think so.

Whenever I used to dream about how I'd be in the future, I would usually picture myself as a totally different person, for some reason. It was only wishful thinking - I'm still the same me.

This is all very hard to describe...

So I'll move on: I had a good day today. Watched "Ice age" in the morning. Funny - very funny. But parts of it, mainly the little talkative guy following the big guy around and annoying him, really seemed too similar to Shrek. Oh well.

I worked today too. But my mom's making me lasagna and garlic bread for dinner, as I requested, yum :-) Our youth group's going to see Spider-man 2 this evening, so I'll talk about how that went later, as well as mentioning what presents I get (if any ;-).

*Laura*

"You can only be young once, but you can always be immature."

-Dave Barry-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009