remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Some people are cut out to be waitresses - I don't think I'm one of them [Saturday, Jul. 17, 2004, 3:45 pm]

Question: What do you get when you cross a diner, lots of hungry people wanting their food, one person on staff (there are supposed to be 2), and...me? Answer (accodring to Carole): a horror movie.

I don't know if they want me to train to be a waitress, or it they just wanted me to fill in because they were short-handed - but let's just say it was quite an adventure. I'm certainly willing to fill in whenever they need me, but I guess no one considered the problem that I had no clue what I was doing! Last night when they told me about it, I got the impression that it was going to be like 'training' - they'd show me how to do it, one thing at a time. But no. I guess this was a good way to learn though - under fire.

So I ended up having to take orders from people, bring the orders out, and yes, even answer the phone! Twice! And we were swamped with orders. Around 1 pm though, another girl showed up and saved us. After that I just washed dishes - at least that's something I KNOW how to do!

But that's how I am when it comes to working: I like getting into a routine and not leaving it. I don't mind going in there and making sandwiches and whoopie pies for the store 4 times a week - because when working with food, it's almost always the same. You follow the recipe, put it all together, wrap it up, price it, and take it out to the store. But working with the diner food and customers is much more unpredictable. And I just love predictability. It just makes me feel lost sometimes, when I do things differently than what I'm used to.

I use the same excuse in real life though: "I can't do it - I've never done it before!" Sometimes change is good. I just have to keep telling myself that. Although in this case, 'change' earned me over $10 in tips. I'd still much rather make food. Honestly.

So I'm really hoping that this was just a temporary arrangement - I hope there's no conspiracy on their part to try to turn me into a waitress.

Anyway, I'm glad to be home. Listening to the "Two Towers" soundtrack. Aaaaaah. Two nights ago, I watched "The Music Man", for the first time in a while. I absolutely love that movie - it's one of my favorite musicals (well okay, I have a lot of favorites). But it contains 4 very important things which make a movie good: Great music, great acting, great plot...and stupid people. Like Eulalie Mackechnie Shinn. *laffs*

Well, I'll let you go now - not that anything I'm saying today is going to hold you here. Goodbye.

*Laura*

"Oh, my dear little librarian. You pile up enough tomorrows, and you'll find you are left with nothing but a lot of empty yesterdays. I don't know about you, but I'd like to make today worth remembering."

-Harold Hill- (The Music Man)

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009