remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Keep away from "my" stuff! [Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004, 5:16 pm]

A few updates to my diary: Firstly, I finally got around to organizing all of my fanlistings onto separate pages. And, I also decided to share with the world how I first discovered the Lord of the Rings movies. That's on my stories page.

Anyway, you know what? I think I have a horsefly stalker. It seems every time I leave the house, or am nearing my driveway on the way home from work, I have to put up with this infernal horsefly flying around my head. I've told him to buzz off, and attempted to kill him a few times, but he won't take any of my gentle hints. Although I can't be sexist: maybe it's a 'she' - that would be even creepier. But there's no way for me to tell for sure.

So, apparently certain members of my family took the news of my new car by thinking, "Oh good, now "we" have 3 vehicles!" My mom actually drove it before I did! How messed up is that? Okay, I don't want to be selfish, but that car is 12 years old, and I'd really like it to last at least all 4 years of school. Maybe my semi-selfishness comes from living in a family of 9 people. The younger ones will probably be growing up with a 'share and share alike' attitude, while I seem to be more materialistic. Sometimes I just want to keep everyone out and keep them away from all my stuff. I usually don't want them using my computer, especially just because they feel like watching a dvd, and the downstairs dvd player and computer are both taken.

But I don't want this attitude to turn me into a totally selfish person either. I have to remember that someday all my 'stuff' will go back to the ground - even the important things, that seem to mean the world to me. I'll probably hang onto them as long as I live, but who's to say whether the next generation is going to care at all? I don't want to be consumed by materialism.

This issue is probably something that I'll struggle to keep in check, as long as I'm alive.

*Laura*

"Buy land. They've stopped making it."

-Mark Twain-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009