remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Be nice to my toys, or suffer the consequences [Monday, Jul. 12, 2004, 12:18 pm]

Since I've been growing up a bit over the past few years, I've been giving away a few of my toys to my younger brothers & sisters. Even though each toy still had meaning to me, I had to face the fact that I just didn't play with them anymore. But the problem I've discovered, is that none of my old toys have the same meaning to my little siblings as they have to me. It feels bad looking into my little brothers' room and seeing some of my toy horses with missing legs and tangled manes.

Today I decided to orchestrate a rescue one of my old toys: my Han Solo doll. My youngest sister had a lot of Barbies, and no males, so Han was the one they would all fight over. But she recentlly acquired a Ken, so I took Han back. One of his guns is missing, and he appears to be balding a little on top (in other words, some of the brown paint on his hair has chipped off). But at least he's mine again. Han Solo is now proudly guarding the entrance to my room with his menacing little blaster attached to his outstretched hand.

Yes, I need to stop watching "Toy Story 2" - I think it's really getting to me.

But even if I end up giving away all my childhood toys, I'm keeping all my books, no matter how much space they take up. Books are so much more interesting, and they'll last a lot longer than whatever little trinkets I may have.

*Laura*

Woody: "Look Jessie, I know you hate me for leaving, but I have to go back. I'm still Andy's toy. Well, if you knew him, you'd understand. See, Andy's..."
Jessie: "Let me guess. Andy's a real special kid, and to him, you're his buddy, his best friend, and when Andy plays with you it's like... even though you're not moving, you feel like you're alive, because that's how he sees you."
Woody: "How did you know that?"
Jessie: "Because Emily was just the same. She was my whole world. "

-Toy Story 2-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009