remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So sorry, but I feel a ramble coming on, which happens to be on an unpopular subject [Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004, 9:23 pm]

Sometimes I wonder what I'm made of. Sometimes I feel so strong, and then I crumble at the touch of a feather. I suppose we all have our areas of life in which we're weak. I look at my failures in these areas and wonder how I'm going to get through life unless I'm stronger. I feel like I need a support. In some areas I'm fiercely independent. But a lot of the time I'm like a baby bird afraid to fly.

When it comes to life, one thing that keeps being made clear to me is that I can't do it alone. I may want to be alone 90% of the day, but I can't be anything when I rely on my own strength.

And then God says, "duh".

I'm so glad I don't have to rely on myself. Ever hear that catch-phrase, "believe in yourself"? I'm so sick of hearing that. I've believed in myself before, and I always let myself down eventually. Sometimes I'm glad that there's nothing I'm extremely talented or successful at, because then I would trust myself too much. But trusting ourselves is yet another one of the many ways we as humans try to compensate for God.

You can call me 'naive', or 'ignorant' if you want. You can compare me to a little kid who's still clinging to their childhood fantasies about Santa Clause. You can say I'm out of touch with the "real world" (Ha! What an insult.) Go ahead and call the ACLU to come peresecute me, if you so desire. You can even try to tell me that science has somehow proven that God doesn't exist (That's impossible, by the way, yet I hear it way too often). But I believe in Him, no matter what anyone else will say.

Why do I care what other people say? Because I'm human. But that doesn't mean I have to follow what other people say. Because "other people" are people who are just like me, in many ways. People who have failures and trials of their own. Who are they to tell me that my beliefs aren't true? How do they know? THEY DON'T.

I feel so much better now.

*Laura*

"A great many of those who 'debunk' traditional values have, in the background, values of their own which they believe to be immune from the debunking process."

-CS Lewis-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009