remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

"Popsicles! Get 'em while they're hot!" [Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004, 9:50 pm]

Okay, *sigh*, I'll admit it: I can live without the internet. But not for long! 3 days is quite enough for me.

My family had a wonderful time visiting our relatives. Remarkable, considering their house is much smaller than ours, so with all of us staying there, the people to bathroom ratio was 12 to 1. Actually, we all got along great, because they're easy people to get along with.

The only 2 things I didn't like were: 1) eating dinner at 8 pm. That's the way they do it for some reason. I like to have mine around 6 or earlier, because if I don't, I usually get a nagging from my stomach. And 2), sleeping in a tent. Well, at least I didn't have to sleep in their barn.

Actually, the tent reminded me of Wuthering Heights when I first stepped into it. The reason being that one of the last times I stayed in a tent was last summer, and the mosquitoes were horrible. So I spent a good portion of the day avoiding them, by laying around the tent reading "Wuthering Heights" by Emily Bronte. So that's why being in the tent got me thinking of the English moors, and just all the other mysterious qualities of the book that I don't know how to describe.

But this time I was reading "The Fellowship of the Ring", so who knows, maybe the next time I sleep in a tent, I'll start thinking of the Shire instead. By the way, watching the movie so many times has almost made me forget just how much extra stuff happened in the beginning of the story. Even after 8 chapters, the hobbits still haven't arrived in Bree yet.

Anyway, it was a very fun time overall. We got to go to their 4th of July parade - the people there threw us LOT of candy. Screw the old parade near our house that only throws tootsie rolls; let's go to the one in Machias next year too!

Oh well, I shall go now - I have loads of stuff to unpack. I guess I'm still somewhat addicted to the internet, considering I got on here before I even thought about dealing with all my bags.

*Laura*

The following quotes (including the one in the title) are all courtesy of my Uncle Dean.

"Yep, I know karate. I also know 3 other Oriental words."

"It's 56 degrees outside. I think we should call up someone in Florida and say, 'na-nanny-boo-boo!'"

"Why do we even bother to buy souvenirs when they're all made in China anyway?"

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009