remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

It's hard to think of a simple title when I'm always so random [Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004, 4:28 pm]

Yesterday I got a letter from the National Library of Photography, about a picture of a sunset that I'd submitted a few months ago. I had all but forgotten about it. They said that my picture is going to be published in a picture book they're putting out. Apparently they publish a lot of those books, because I know 2 other girls from my church who enjoy photography, and each had a picture published by them.

The bad part is, the book is $70, so I guess I won't get to see my name in print. Sitll, I think it's cool! Maybe someone will see it and like it, and ask if I'd be interested in selling it to them, and..... Hey, I can dream, can't I? Yeah, I know thousands of people have been published by them before, but it's still nice to know I was chosen.

Anyway, I got 2 paychecks from work today, and thankfully they're both a lot higher than my first one, which was $14. I really like the place I work. It's a small, family-owned convenience store/gas station/diner, and the people there are really nice.

A few days ago, I was carrying out a bunch of containers of salad I'd made, and, me being me, accidently dropped one on the floor. There was no harm done, although I still felt bad for being clumsy. But as I was picking it up, the owner (who was working out there) was like, "Oooh, tossed salad." It's nice to know that they're easy-going folks.

Even though I make minimum wage, I think I'd much rather work there than at some chain restaurant, like McDonald's.

Well, 3 more days until I graduate. And I know I'm going to be nervous. Why?? I keep telling myself nothing is going to happen - all I have to do is go up and get my diploma, and stay on the stage for one minute, while my mom says something. Haha, I think my mom's probably going to be more nervous than I am.

The teacher that evaluates my work was telling us that the parents often end up embarrassing their kids up there, by bursting out crying, and things like that. I know, it's an emotional time, but I really hope my mom doesn't cry or anything. I mean, she probably won't, but then, I'm the oldest child & all.

Ah well, I'll survive somehow. And my grandparents are coming up from Pennsylvania tomorrow :-)

*Laura*

"Whenever I hear anyone arguing for slavery, I feel a strong impulse to see it tried on him personally."

-Abraham Lincoln-

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009