remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

A song [Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004, 10:43 am]

It's sometimes embarrassing to read back over some of my old entries on here. Because, wow, I was sooooooo boooring. And probably still am. Well, uh, at least it's a good thing to know my weaknesses.

Anyway, I rarely put songs on regular entries, but I want to add this one today, because it really touched me, and I think it's appropriate for these times. I heard it on the radio once when I was driving and it's made me want to cry every time - which isn't so good when I'm supposed to be focusing on the road! It's called "Letters from War", by Mark Schultz:

She ran to the mailbox
On that bright summer day
Found a letter from her son
In a war far away

He spoke of the weather
And good friends that he'd made
Said "I've been thinking 'bout dad
And the life that he had
Thats why I'm here today"
And at the end he said,
"You are what I'm fighting for."
It was the first of his letters from war

She started writing,
"You're good, and you're brave
What a father that you'll be someday
Make it home
Make it safe"
She wrote every night as she prayed

Late in December
A day she'll not forget
Oh her tears stained the paper
With every word that she read

It said "I was up on a hill
I was out there alone
When the shots all rang out
And bombs were exploding
And that's when I saw him
He came back to me
And though he was captured
A man set me free
And that man was your son

He asked me to write to you
I told him I would, oh I swore."

It was the last of the letters from war

And she prayed he was living
Kept on believing, and wrote every night just to say,

"You are good, and you're brave
What a father that you'll be someday"
Bring him home
Bring him safe..."

Then two years later
Autumn leaves all around
A car pulled in the driveway
And she fell to the ground
And out stepped a Captain
Where her boy used to stand

He said "Mom, I'm following orders
From all of your letters
And I've come home again"
He ran in to hold her
And dropped all his bags on the floor
Holding all of her letters from war

Bring him home...

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009