remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Jamfest! [Sunday, May. 30, 2004, 2:36 pm]

*yawn*, I'm still kinda tired today. Yesterday was the annual Jamfest event at Funtown USA, Maine's biggest (and probably only) amusement park. It was very amusing. No, actually it was more than that, it was FUN! And the good news is, I didn't pass out.

At one point I was feeling a big light-headed, but that was when I was waiting for the bumper cars to start. It took a while, and I was just sitting in my car, zoning. But fortunately, as soon as the ride started up with a jolt, I was fine, and had fun driving around, bashing into my brother and Zack. I like driving those cars, cuz I can just spin the wheel around with one hand, which looks really snazzy, in my opinion.

It was a really windy day though, and I was even shivering a bit. If there's anything I hate more than snow, it's the windchill factor, brrrr! The freakiest part was when I was at the top of the Dragon's descent, this 200-foot tall ride that brings you up to the very top and then drops. Well, when I was at the top, the wind was strong enough so that I could actually feel the tower moving!! It was scary. I'm sure nothing would have happened, but it was just an uncomfortable feeling, so I decided not to go on it after that.

I'm glad I got to go around with some people I knew - there were a whole bunch of families from our church there. It was funny, when we were standing in line for the Dragon's descent, one person said, "Don't worry nobody's ever died on this ride...yet." Comforting, isn't it? We tried to use that to convince my sister to go on it, and on the Excalibur roller coaster (which is awesome!), but she wouldn't budge, even when I tried to drag her there.

Aside from the rides though, I got to hear some great music too. Ephesus53, a band from my church played, and did a great job, although I don't know if their rap-core style was really for everybody. But I liked it! And a few hours later, I got a pretty good seat for the Tree63 concert. Those guys were great! They're the first 'national' band that I've ever seen more than once. Their lead singer is pretty funny too - he was like, "I hope you're all enjoying yourselves here at Funworld." He actually got it right later and said Funtown, but he never could remember the correct name. Can't blame him though, cuz I'm sure they travel to different places all the time.

They're one of my favorite bands. I'm definitely getting their new cd when it becomes available through sound & spirit. Oh, and speaking of cd's, I finally did something I've been meaning to do for quite a while: I ordered Josh Groban's first cd. I actually wanted to get his second one, cuz I really like 2 of the songs I've heard from it, but I figured I might as well start at the beginning. I remember seeing him on Oprah once (probably the only time I've ever watched Oprah and I had the good fortune of seeing him on the show), and he was wonderful.

Well, I suppose that's all for now. I think I need a nap.

*Laura*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009