remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I'm very glad to report that I'm alive and well, at the present time [Tuesday, May. 04, 2004, 4:50 pm]

In the words of Samwise Gamgee:

"Well, I'm back."

And I didn't die. Isn't that cool?

The weird thing is, I wasn't even nervous, or anxious, the way I usually am. I guarantee, if I'd had to do this a year ago, I would have been much more scared than I was today.

That's not to say I wasn't scared at all. But the whole scared feeling didn't really start coming until I was laying down in the chair, with 3 doctors in there with masks over their faces, strapping my arms down onto the chair, taking my blood pressure, and yes, sticking me with needles. Then I got scared.

See, I was expecting that the anesthesia would be something I would breathe, but I got it intravenously (sp?) instead. First, they started on my left arm. I HATE getting shots. Not that anyone really enjoys it, but I think it hurts quite a bit. At least I don't have a phobia about needles or anything. But they had to do it THREE times!

The first time they poked it into my left arm, they couldn't find the vein, so they tried again. And it didn't work either. So then they tried my right arm. I remember feeling the needle go in again (ouch!)...and...that time it worked.

The next thing I remember was being helped out of the chair by two doctors, and led down the hallway to this big chair that I could sit on. I was kind of oblivious to everything at first, but after a few minutes I 'woke up' enough to go home.

The weird thing was, it hardly seemed like any time had passed at all. It was around 9 am when it got over, so the whole thing took about an hour. But it seemed like only 5 minutes ago, I'd been sitting in the waiting room.

Thankfully, the whole ordeal was no worse than I thought it would be. The only pain I've experienced so far was being stuck with needles 3 times. My mouth was bleeding, so I've had to wear a mouth guard for part of the time, and gauze to catch the blood, so communication was rather, um, difficult at first.

But I feel fine now, just a little weak, since I probably won't be having any solid foods for a while.

I've had a milkshake, and a yogurt so far, and even some baby food. The doctor's office said that eating is a very good sign, because a lot of people don't even want to touch food after they get their wisdom teeth out.

Speaking of baby food, I LOVE that stuff! I remember when my little siblings were babies, I'd always beg my parents to let me finish their baby food if they didn't eat it all. And now I have a whole bunch of bottles of that stuff, all to my own :-D

So I'd say it went well; no complications or anything. Of course, it might not be so comfortable after the pain medication they gave me wears off, but I've got some of my own, just in case.

But I still can't open my jaw any farther than I could before. Hmmmm. Hopefully that'll come with time. I have a follow-up appointment next week though, so I can have any problems taken care of then.

Well, end of surgery report.

I really should get some more schoolwork done, if I want to stay on track. I tried to do some history reading earlier, but it was hard to concentrate, even when I tried to hold my eyes open. But I might be better at that now, who knows.

Goodbye then...and thanks for the prayers :-)

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009