remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Death, and surgery. Hopefully there will be no connection. [Saturday, May. 01, 2004, 2:36 pm]

The weather today has been absolutely wonderful - it's almost humid out there! I decided to finally get my sandals out of my closet and break them in too. It's hard to believe it's the first day of May already!

It's also hard to believe that my surgery is in 3 days!! (read this entry if you don't know what I'm talking about). And honestly, I'm not exactly nervous about it. I suppose I am in a way, just cuz I've never gone through anything like this before. But I'm not freaking out about it, so I guess that's good.

Although in any surgery, there are risks involved. I remember when I first found out I needed the wisdom teeth out, they showed me this video about it, and they talked about the risks involved with anesthesia (sp?). At the top of the list, there were things like nausea, pain, dizziness, etc. And at the very bottom, they were like, "And in very rare instances, fatality can occur." I was thinking, oh thanks, that's VERY encouraging!

So if I don't write anything in here for a few weeks, after Tuesday, you can just assume that I died. Just thought I'd warn you all, just in case.

And then, things like that always get me thinking about what it would be like to die. Not that I'm anxious to, or anything. Well, when God wants me to go, I will, but I have a feeling he wants to keep me around for a while. But I sometimes wonder what effect it would have on other people I know if I just suddenly died. How many people would really miss me? What would they do with all my stuff? (and why is that so important to me? LOL) What would people say at my funeral? How many people would even come?

Ok, I'll stop thinking about that. But it's very interesting to wonder about, when I have too much time on my hands, like right now. Not that I do it very often.

Still, I'm at least thankful that I'm not afraid of dying. I'm not eager for it, but I know where I'll end up, when it inevitably happens. Hopefully I'll be old by that time. But it makes me really think about what I've done so far that would have any kind of lasting impact. If I died right now, how would it affect the world? It reminds me of the movie "It's a wonderful life". Sometimes it's hard to see how the things you do affect others, but they always do.

Ok, talking about death and surgery is not a good mix ;-) So I'll stop now. Goodbye!

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009