remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Eye exams, and health [Friday, Apr. 30, 2004, 11:33 am]

Yesterday was kind of an adventure. My mom decided we were all going to get our eye exams done in one afternoon. That's 7 total. And I got to be first! (yahoo). Turns out that, just as I suspected, I have gotten a bit more nearsighted in the last 3 years. So I need stronger lenses, *sigh*. But mom said I might be able to get contacts too, this time. I hope so!

But I guess it's not so bad. The eye doctor (who also wears glasses) remarked that it's actually a good thing, because nearsighted people tend to be smarter than average. Ok, I can deal with that. ;-)

Well, after MY appointment, I took the youngest 3 kids over to the library, while more appointments were going on. Then I brought them back again. Then I went back and told my brother it was his turn. And after all the appointments were done, I took my little brother to the park to play.

I've discovered that I hate crossing streets, especially in busy parts of town. But that's probably just because I haven't lived in anything close to a 'busy town' in over 8 years. I'm just used to everything being as non-busy as can be.

But yesterday I also picked up a job application, and made a hair appointment, yay! I suppose that is a good thing about living in a busy town, or city - lots of opportunities to do things.

I guess another thing I realized yesterday is that just because I'm shy about talking to people I don't know, doesn't mean there's anything wrong with me. I just don't like to get out of my comfort zone, and I don't like change. I'm so used to interacting with no one but my family all week, that I'm uncomfortable doing it any other way. But I think I really could adjust, if I had to. It just takes me a while before I really get 'comfortable' in new situations.

And now, to talk about school. I'm almost done with just about every subject. And I think it'd be fitting to tell the world what each subject has meant to me this year, and even throughout highschool. So today I'll just talk about Health, since that's the only thing I'm completely finished (and have been for a while).

Health has been a very interesting topic. I'm glad I was able to take it this year, because it kinda went hand in hand with the anatomy course I took too. When I first thought of health, I mainly just thought about food, and nutrition. But it's a lot more than that. My book covered nutrients, exercise, injuries, friendships, diseases, drugs, disorders, rescue breathing, and even spirituality.

One thing it taught me is that it's my job to take care of my body, because the things I do to it can affect people other than just me. It's really not about what size or shape I am, or how great an athlete I am, or how many friends I have, etc. It's about making the best of what God has given me. I think I'm learning to not sweat it every single time I break 'the rules'. Yes, I eat too much, yes, I don't exercise enough, and yes, I'm not always as 'in tune' with God as I wish I was.

But I'm starting to realize that the habits I develop now will probably stay with me for a long time. That's why it's important to learn to pray every day, to read the Bible even if I don't 'feel like it', to exercise every day too (even if it's just a little bit), and to realize that every single thing I put into my body will affect me somehow, for good or evil.

And I've seen progress. I'm now doing 60 sit-ups a day, and I haven't missed many days. I've also prayed a bit more than usual, even if it's not about a "major" thing. Hey, God still wants to hear from me!

I still have a long way to go in the area of health, or at least putting myself in the proper 'mindset' all the time... but it was fun to learn about it, and it gave me some motivation to try harder in certain areas.

Ok, end of 'subject review'. More will probably follow, in the next few weeks (sorry). ;-)

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009