remove ad

remove ad

Extras:

Fanlistings

Diaryrings

My half.com store

Links

View My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook


Christian
English Major
Writer
Thinker of odd things

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Strange bones [Sunday, Apr. 25, 2004, 3:09 pm]

Wow. Just a few minutes ago, my dad called us outside to see something. I went over to the back of his old truck, and there were a bunch of huge animal bones there. A skull, a pelvis, and a few vertebrae and ribs. He found them out in the woods and thinks they came from a moose. And so do I, because I don't think there are any other animals that big in our woods.

It's pretty amazing to see them though. Usually bones that size are the kind of thing you only see at museums, not on your own land. Moose have HUGE skulls. Wow. I'm kinda wondering how it died, especially since it only left a few bones behind. Oh well, I'll never know.

Anyway, yesterday I unloaded everything from my bureau (so my room is kind of a mess right now) and we carried it down to the basement and painted it. My dad had suggested just putting on a clear stain, which is what my younger siblings put on theirs, but the wood doesn't look any different when you do that. It's kinda like wearing just clear nailpolish - what's the point, if it'll hardly show up?

So I decided on a dark, walnut color instead, and I think it looks really nice. I really like painting things for some reason. Even when we were building our house, I liked coming over to paint the walls; it's a lot of fun.

But I think we're bringing the bureau back up here today, so that's good. I don't like keeping my clothes & stuff in boxes - it just makes it hard to find things.

After church this morning, we had a little meeting about softball. Our church has a softball team and every year we play against other churches & stuff. I've never played before, but I'm old enough, so I'm thinking I might, at least a few times. I played softball when I was 11 and 12, and then again at camp last summer. So my 'skills' will definitely need some practice. Ordinarily I wouldn't enjoy playing on a team with a bunch of men who throw fast, run fast, and hit the balls hard, cuz I...can't really do that, LOL. But at least 2 other teenage girls in our church are probably going to be playing, at least a little bit, so that's why I might too.

Besides, I could use the exercise.

*Eowyn*

wander -- travel

Miss anything?

Vitality - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009
Soulfest 2009 - Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009
Politics and Poverty - Friday, Jul. 24, 2009
Michael Jackson - Monday, Jun. 29, 2009
Elegy for Spotty - Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009